François Coty Award’s rules

1/ Candidates for the award must have created a perfume of certain renown, one launched the year prior to the award.

2/ The commission, composed of the President, members to the association, and expert members ‘neutral’, will establish a list of perfumers and in so doing solicit the assistance and advice of specialists (Commission of the French Society of Perfumers, the Versailles Osmothèque, International perfume Conservatoire, etc.).

3/ A list of 10 perfumes, no more, with their creators, will be made by the commission, which will also take into account the esthetic presentation of each perfume. Former award recipients of this Award are not included.

4/ The nominees will all be individually contacted and requested to accept the rules and conditions set by the commission. Following which, each nominee will send to the commission a career biography along with 3 samples of their own creations, to enable the members of the jury an evaluation process of each nominee.

5/ The jury is composed of 7 individuals including the president, former award recipients and other personalities, who must choose the future award recipient from amongst the nominees and the different criteria provided.

6/ Each member of the jury must choose 3 perfumers from the nominees, by order of preference 1 to 3. 3 points are attributed to the first chosen, 2 to the second and 1 to the third. The results of each nominee are added and the award recipient will be the person that has obtained the most points.

7/ Each member of the jury is expected to uphold total discretion in the judging process. Only the name of the award recipient will be divulged at the ceremony and will remain secret until that moment. The names of all the other nominees must not be communicated.

8/ The President of the jury will announce the name of the award recipient and will discern the award to him/her during a solemn ceremony that will take place at the Château d’Artigny, former home of François Coty, in Montbazon, Monday December 3rd 2018.

Award laureate recipients of the Prix François Coty 

2000 : Jean Guichard
2001 : Francis Kurkdjian
2002 : Maurice Roucel
2003 : Alberto Morillas
2004 : Jacques Cavallier
2005 : Sophie Labbé
2006 : Lorenzo Villoresi
2007 : Christine Nagel
2008 : Dominique Ropion (International price)

Price of Honour

Edmond Roudnitska
Jean Kerléo
Jean-Paul Guerlain